Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 2nd, 2010

Better late than never, my movie of the month blog is normally my first blog of the month. I have been snowed under with Oscar related blogs as well as none blog related things this weekend so it is a day late. The nominations are:

  • The Road
  • Daybreakers
  • The Book of Eli
  • 44 Inch Chest
  • Up in the Air
  • A Prophet

This month’s result may be a surprise. As I said last June being the best film may not be enough on its own to win, that month I gave the first ever movie of the month to The Hangover ahead of two superior films, Looking for Eric and Anything for Her.  This month The Road, Up in the Air and A Prophet the best movies of the month and unless we have a very strong year will all rank highly in my final year list. But the two movies that are in contention for movie of the month are the ones that are the most pleasantly surprising. Daybreakers and The Book of Eli should both be disposable crap, they are both actually quite good.  The winner is the movie that I have thought about and talked about more since seeing than any other movie this year:

I also saw Edge of Darkness and Ninja Assassin, neither were good enogh to make the shortlist. I will be seen Precious later in the week and will include it on the February list if good enough.

Read Full Post »